news

Initiative Cliché-Free: Career paths free of role clichés ("Initiative Klischeefrei: Berufswege frei von Rollenklischees")

In its "Career Paths" series, the "Initiative Klischeefrei" (Cliché-Free Initiative) of the Federal Institute for Vocational Education and Training (BIBB) presents young people who have chosen an "atypical" occupation. In portraits, they report on their experiences in the profession and on how important it is not to be guided by "classic role models" when choosing a career. More information on career profiles and events organized by the "Initiative Klischeefrei" can be found at www.klischee-frei.de.

Documentation of the symposium "Family-friendly studies in times of Corona" from June 16 and 17, 2021

The digital symposium of the German Student Union examined the situation of students or studying parents in the pandemic - you can read more about it on the "SFS-Infoportal".

21st informatica feminale Baden-Württemberg (June 14, 2021)

This year's annual summer school for computer science is once again aimed at female students and women in the field of computer science and related disciplines with a diverse range of courses. The informatica feminale brings together female students, scientists and IT women from practice in order to gain new impulses for the study of computer science and to create space for further qualification among women. The upcoming informatica feminale will take place...

  • When? From 27 to 31 July 2021
  • Where? Online

The informatic summer school is a joint project of the Ministry of Science, Research and the Arts  Baden-Württemberg, the network F.I.T. and the state initiative ,,Frauen in MINT-Berufen in Wirtschaft, Wissenschaft und Forschung''. Further information about the event and contact persons can be found here.

Online survey: Society of Ideas - Gesellschaft der Ideen (June 14, 2021)

The German Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF) is looking for new impulses for a common togetherness and the best ideas for social innovations. In the first competition phase, the BMBF has already awarded 30 ideas, which are now starting phase 2. The ideas can still be evaluated until June 21. The jury will take the ratings into account in order to advance to the next round. Among the 30 is the project ,,POPP! Filterblasen spielerisch zum Platzen bringen‘‘ (,,POPP! Bursting Filter Bubbles Playfully‘‘) from ITAS - Institute for Technology Assessment and Systems Analysis of KIT. Other exciting ideas are also in the running, such as workplace improvements tailored to the needs of women, intergenerational meetings on the topic of elderly care, or mobbing prevention. Further information on the ideas and the competition can be found here.

What can family policy achieve? (June 14, 2021)

Opinions in the Bundestag differ widely on the importance of family policy in Germany. According to a report in the Tagesschau, Ivonne Magwas, CDU politician and chairwoman of the CDU women's group, sees the Corona crisis as an opportunity to re-discuss the long-standing debate about reconciling family and career and to get long-term solutions off the ground. The SPD and the Grüne criticize the CDU-led Ministry for Families for not being sufficiently aware of the problems faced by families. The Linke has ideas and concepts for which there is no room for joint discussion. The AfD sees no need for action, since it can be assumed that society will regulate compatibility on its own. In an interview with Deutschlandfunk, the publicist Elisabeth Niejahr speaks of an undersupply of family policy. Both the Tagesschau report and that of Deutschlandfunk open up prospects for how the view of family policy concerns could change after the next federal election.

Father, Mother, Child? Family in change (June 7, 2021)

What makes a family? What difficulties does it face today? And how much are we shaped by our family histories? Planet Wissen (SWR) talked about these questions with the historian Rolf-Ulrich Kunze from KIT, among others. The full-length discussion can be found in the Planet Wissen media library.

Overnight accommodation for parents living in separation (June 7, 2021)

Mein Papa kommt/Meine Mama kommt is a nationwide visitation program that encourages parents and children with two homes to be together. After a separation, there can be hundreds of miles between child and parent. To ensure that fathers and mothers are not prevented by long distances from losing the bond with their child, volunteer hosts get involved and offer free overnight stays at the child's home. More information about the offer can be found here

Family-friendly support and offers (June 7, 2021)

Lokale Bündnisse für Familie (Local Alliances for the Family) is an initiative of the German Federal Ministry for Family Affairs that promotes the networking of various actors at the local level. With a wide range of offers, the initiative strives for a change in society that promotes the compatibility of family and career instead of making it more difficult. The offers range from support in financial matters and family benefits, help in crisis situations to vacation, childcare and employment offers for children. Offers and dates are continuously updated and can be viewed on the website of the Local Alliances for the Family.

What is this? - Educational work by equal opportunity officers (May 31, 2021)

A campaign by the city of Munich is dedicated to the transparency of equal opportunity tasks. What do equal opportunity commissioners want to achieve? Why are their concerns important? What does the term gender mainstreaming actually mean? In order to dispel misconceptions, Munich's equal opportunity commissioners are doing educational work: this video illustrates the necessity and motivation of gender mainstreaming.

Gender relations in science (May 31, 2021)

The book Kooperation und Konkurrenz im Wissenschaftsbetrieb: Perspektiven aus der Genderforschung und -politik was co-authored by women scientists who are dedicated to gender research. The authors share insights into networking and gender equality work at universities and gender relati-ons in science. Recommended by the Society for Education and Science (GEW).

Perspectives for more gender justice (May 31, 2021)

Last year, sociology professor Jutta Allmendinger and other experts discussed the social consequences of the corona pandemic on talk show host Anne Will. ,,Women will continue to experience a terrible retraditionalization. I don't think it will be so easy to make up for it, and that we will lose three decades,‘‘ Allmendinger said of the emerging rollback in gender relations. In her book Es geht nur gemeinsam! Wie wir endlich Geschlechtergerechtigkeit erreichen Allmendinger confirms her thesis with sociological data. The editorial team of Deutschlandfunk sees the book's potential in depicting social reality and pointing out perspectives that should help to make social relations fairer. 

Studying with a child - reconciling and overcoming challenges (May 17, 2021)

Organizing a course of study and raising a child at the same time faces young parents with many challenges. The ongoing pandemic season confronts young families with further hurdles. But these hurdles are not insurmountable; on the contrary, there are numerous support services that provide solutions to organizational and financial difficulties. The study guide studienwahl.de makes attentive on evenly those assistance offers and shows on the basis of best practice examples how both obligations can be agreed with one another. Further information and advice can be found here on the family portal under the heading ,,Consultation/Service''.

The bukof formulates 18 positions for a gender-equitable higher education policy (May 17, 2021)

The Federal Conference of Women's and Equal Opportunity Officers at Universities (bukof) addresses stakeholders in the German higher education landscape with a position paper for a gender-equitable higher education policy. The demands of bukof represent an orientation framework for students as well as for employees in teaching, technology and administration: The bukof opens up perspectives and reveals the need for change, which, for example, affects the study conditions or staff organization at universities. The full text of the positions can be found on the bukof website.

Childcare – What regulations are applied in which state? (May 11, 2021)

Education policy is regulated by the states. In this case there have been no changes during the Corona crisis. It is hardly surprising that parents lose the track of all the regulations which are valid for childcare. In consequence parents are wondering what regulations are applied in their home state. The german student union (Deutsches Studentenwerk) regularly updates all the general regulations in every single german state. Current (needed) childcare possibilities of each state are listed here.

Online course: Dream goal "Mrs Doctor" or: How do I start a dissertation? (May 10, 2021)

The State Conference of Equal Opportunity Officers at Universities in BaWü (Landeskonferenz der Gleichstellungsbeauftragten an Hochschulen BaWü - Lakof) offers a two-part online course to female graduates who would like to pursue an academic career after graduation. The doctorate is the ticket to employment as a research associate. Therefore, the focus of the course is on finding a topic, supervision and financing of a dissertation. The course participants will not only receive further tips from experienced female scientists, but will also have the opportunity to address their own questions to the speakers. The two parts of the course take place on 1st October 2021 and 17th February 2022 from 10:00 a.m. to 17:00 p.m. each. Further information can be found on the Lakof website

Abuse of power in science – The perspective of doctoral students (May 10, 2021)

The N2 - Network of Doctoral Student Networks regularly conducts surveys among more than 16.000 doctoral students throughout Germany to represent the interests of doctoral students to research organizations and the public. One of the most recent surveys addresses the phenomenon of abuse of power in science. The survey results suggest an urgent need for action, as there is a high level of dissatisfaction among doctoral students. The respondents state that they perceive the strong dependence on a person hierarchically superior to them as problematic. Bullying by supervisors and superiors is one of many reasons why doctoral students think about leaving science. More information about the survey and the results can be found here.

Corona KiTa-Rat: The meaning of childcare during the Corona crisis (May 3, 2021)

From a medical and social point of view the Corona-KiTa-Study investigates which meaning the corona crisis has for kindergartens, children and their parents. Results are regularly published and give on the one hand an overview of measures of hygiene in kindergartens and inoculation priorities for educational staff, on the other hand of the role of children as spreaders of the virus. The study serves to guide political decision-makers and legitimizes decision in family policy. Discussing opening strategies and implementing such strategies is still strongly dependent on the current infection situation. Thereby, the focus is on health and safety protection of the education staff at their workplaces. The current decisions are recorded (as of March 30, 2021) in a video-statement by the Federal Minister for Family Affairs Franziska Giffey.

Changes in social and family policy in 2021 (April 8, 2021)

The german student union (Deutsches Studentenwerk) gives an overview of the latest changes and developements of social and family policy in 2021. Various information can be found in here, e.g. current arrangements for increasing child allowance (Kindergeld) and tax-free child allowance (Kinderfreibetrag), the adjustment of the Düsseldorfer Tabelle, financial discharge of single parents and arrangements for increasing of the housing benefit (Wohngeld). Further information to all changes can be found on the official website of the Federal Ministry for Family Affairs, Senior Citizens, Women and Youth. Therefore, the german student union gives advices by offering links in its published overview.

Social pedagogical blog around Corona (continuously up to date)

The Blog developed from an initiative of the executive committee of the commission social paedagogy in the Deutschen Gesellschaft für Erziehungswissenschaft e.V. It reacts to the diverse social questions that have arisen due to the Corona pandemic, especially with regard to education, care, nursing, etc.

Opening of schools – criticism by the GEW (February 16, 2021)

Which conditions have to be fulfilled to re-open schools? Does it make sense to link opening decisions to incidence numbers? Why is it important to have federal regulations for schools? The GEW criticizes the plans of policy in terms of re-opening schools. Marlis Tepe, president of the GEW, explains that decisions are made too hastily and that implementation is therefore about to fail. The demands of the GEW can be read here.

Studying with children - a report of a couple's experiences (February 16, 2021)

Julia and Julius Rind talk about their daily lives as students and young parents of two children in kindergarten age. How can studies and raising children be brought together? The podcast is available here.

Children, household, care - who takes care? (January 27, 2021)

The Federal Ministry for Family Affairs, Senior Citizens, Women and Youth has published a dossier on the subject of "Children, Household, Care – who cares? Women and men are equally faced with the challenge of fulfilling professional obligations and care responsibilities. Equality policy aims to create a framework that enables women and men to share the work and care responsibilities in partnership. The dossier looks at the gender care gap, its causes and possible solutions. Are women the losers of the Covid-19 pandemic? A survey conducted by the Institute for Employment Research (Institut für Arbeitsmarkt- und Berufsforschung) also deals with this question. The results of the survey can be viewed in the IBA-Forum.

Equality and university in the pandemic (continuously up to date)

The federal conference of women’s and equal opportunities commissioners of universities offers current information about equality, science and universities during the corona-pandemic.

Survey : How did students experience the digital summer term  and everyday life as a student? (September 25, 2020)

A research team from the University of Hildesheim conducted a nationwide qualitative online survey and analysed data from 2350 students.  Aim of this  research was to be able to use the results  for the design of the upcoming winter term  in 2020/21. 72.3 percent of the students surveyed felt that the workload in the digital term  was higher compared to the attendance term . Factors for this estimation  as well as further results and the link to the full report can be found here.

Special regulations in BAföG during Corona (August 7, 2020)

The loss of income will be considered to support student parents during corona financially. Here you will find more information about the current changes.

Discharge for single parents (July 31, 2020)

The disburdening factor for single parents (regulated in §24b of the income tax act) was raised from 1908€ up to 4008€ for 2020 and 2021 as a reaction on the special situation of single parents during the corona pandemic. Here you can read more about it.

Well-being of families in times of Corona (July 31, 2020)

DIW Berlin (German Institute for Economic Research) has published a report on the well-being of families in times of corona. It shows that parents with young children are said to be the most affected. Various survey data collected before and during the Corona pandemic show Satisfaction with life in general and also with family life and child care is significantly lower.

Children’s bonus has been enacted (June 12, 2020)

To support families in the corona pandemic financially and to set an impulse to revive the economy, a children’s bonus was enacted as part of the corona-economic stimulus package. Families can obtain 300€ per person in rates of 150€. Especially for families with a low/average income, the bonus is very welcome. For more information, click here.

Extended wage continuation has been enacted (June 5, 2021)

In the future parents will receive a compensation for loss of wages up to 20 weeks to support them even more during the corona pandemic and to offer financial security. The regulation applies to parents who have to take care of children aged up to 12 and who  were not able to work regularly . Here you can read more about it.

New study „parents during the Corona-Crisis“ (June 5, 2021)

The Federal Institute for Population Research has published a new study entitled „parents during the Corona-Crisis: Forced to improvise“. The focus has been set on issues like closing of child care or school, home office, time use and much more. For more information, click here.

Corona - Families at the limit (May 8, 2020)

The Konrad Adenauer Stiftung has conducted research on the effects of the corona pandemic on families. The following article deals with reasons such as multiple exposure and lack of contacts as well as possible consequences.

Study of gender equality and Corona (April 23, 2020)

The study determines the impact of the corona-pandemic on parents and their time management relating to childcare, gainful employment and domestic work. Here you can find the evaluation.

Aktuelles

Initiative Klischeefrei: Berufswege frei von Rollenklischees

Die „Initiative Klischeefrei“ vom Bundesinstitut für Berufsbildung (BIBB) stellt in der Reihe „Berufswege“ junge Menschen vor, die sich für einen „untypischen“ Beruf entschieden haben. In Porträts berichten diese über ihre Erfahrungen im Beruf und darüber, wie wichtig es ist, sich bei der Berufswahl nicht an den „klassischen Rollenbildern“ zu orientieren. Mehr Informationen zu Berufsbildern und Veranstaltungen der „Initiative Klischeefrei“ können unter www.klischee-frei.de aufgerufen werden.

Dokumentation der Fachtagung „Familienfreundliches Studium in Zeiten von Corona“ vom 16. und 17. Juni 2021

Die digitale Fachtagung des Deutschen Studentenwerks untersuchte die Situation von Studierenden bzw. studierenden Eltern in der Pandemie – mehr dazu können Sie auf dem SFS-Infoportal nachlesen.

21. informatica feminale Baden-Württemberg (14.06.2021)

Die alljährlich Sommerschule für Informatik richtet sich auch in diesem Jahr mit einem vielfältigen Kursangebot an Studentinnen und Frauen des Fachgebiets Informatik und verwandter Fachrichtungen. Die informatica feminale bringt hochschulübergreifend Studentinnen, Wissenschaftlerinnen und IT-Frauen aus der Praxis zusammen, um neue Impulse für das Informatikstudium zu gewinnen sowie Raum für Weiterqualifizierung unter Frauen zu schaffen. Die anstehende informatica feminale findet statt…

  • Wann? Vom 27. Bis 31. Juli 2021
  • Wo? Online

Die Informatiksommerschule ist ein Gemeinschaftsprojekt des Ministeriums für Wissenschaft, Forschung und Kunst Baden-Württemberg, des Netzwerk F.I.T. sowie der Landesinitiative ,,Frauen in MINT-Berufen in Wirtschaft, Wissenschaft und Forschung‘‘. Weitere Informationen zur Veranstaltung und Ansprechpartner sind hier zu finden.

Onlinebefragung: Gesellschaft der Ideen (14.06.2021)

Das Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung sucht neue Impulse für ein gemeinsames Miteinander und die besten Ideen für soziale Innovationen. In der ersten Wettbewerbsphase hat das BMBF bereits 30 Ideen ausgezeichnet, die nun in Phase 2 starten. Die Ideen können noch bis zum 21. Juni bewertet werden. Für das Weiterkommen in die nächste Runde berücksichtigt die Jury die abgegebenen Bewertungen. Unter den 30 dabei ist das Projekt ,,POPP! Filterblasen spielerisch zum Platzen bringen‘‘ vom ITAS – Institute for Technology Assessment and Systems Analysis des KIT. Mit am Start sind weitere spannende Ideen, wie z.B. Arbeitsplatzverbesserungen abgestimmt auf die Bedürfnisse von Frauen, generationenübergreifende Treffen zum Thema Altenpflege oder Mobbingprävention. Weitere Informationen zu den Ideen und dem Wettbewerb sind hier zu finden.

Was kann Familienpolitik leisten? (14.06.2021)

Welchen Stellenwert die Familienpolitik in Deutschland einnimmt, darüber gehen die Meinungen im Bundestag weit auseinander. Einem Bericht der Tagesschau zufolge sieht Ivonne Magwas, Unionspolitikerin und Vorsitzende der CDU-Frauengruppe, in der Coronakrise die Möglichkeit, die langjährige Debatte über Vereinbarkeit von Familie und Beruf neu zu diskutieren und langfristige Lösungen auf den Weg zu bringen. SPD und Grüne kritisieren das CDU geführte Familienministerium, die Probleme von Familien nicht ausreichend wahrzunehmen. Die Linke habe Ideen und Konzepte, für die kein Raum zur gemeinsamen Diskussion bleibe. Die AfD sieht keinen Handlungsbedarf, da davon auszugehen sei, die Gesellschaft reguliere die Vereinbarkeit von selbst. Gegenüber Deutschlandfunk spricht die Publizisten Elisabeth Niejahr von einer Unterversorgung der Familienpolitik. Sowohl der Bericht der Tagesschau als auch derjenige von Deutschlandfunk eröffnen Aussichten, wie sich die Sicht auf familienpolitische Belange nach der nächsten Bundestagswahl ändern könnte.

Vater, Mutter, Kind? Familie im Wandel (07.06.2021)

Was macht Familie aus? Mit welchen Schwierigkeiten ist sie heute konfrontiert? Und wie sehr sind wir durch unsere Familiengeschichten geprägt? Über diese Fragen hat Planet Wissen (SWR) unter anderem mit dem Historiker Rolf-Ulrich Kunze vom KIT gesprochen. Der Beitrag in voller Länge ist in der Mediathek von Planet Wissen zu finden.

Übernachtungsmöglichkeiten für in Trennung lebende Eltern (07.06.2021)

Mein Papa kommt/Meine Mama kommt ist ein bundesweites Besuchsprogramm, das das Zusammensein von Eltern und Kindern mit zwei Elternhäusern fördert. Nach einer Trennung können hunderte Kilometer zwischen Kind und Elternteil liegen. Damit Väter und Mütter nicht durch große Entfernungen daran gehindert werden die Bindung zu ihrem Kind zu verlieren, engagieren sich ehrenamtliche Gastgeber/-innen und bieten kostenfreie Übernachtungen am Wohnort des Kindes. Mehr Informationen über das Angebot sind hier zu finden. 

Familienfreundliche Unterstützung und Angebote (07.06.2021)

Lokale Bündnisse für Familie ist eine Initiative des Bundesfamilienministeriums, das sich auf lokaler Ebene für die Vernetzung verschiedener Akteure stark macht. Mit vielfältigen Angeboten strebt die Initiative einen Gesellschaftswandel an, der die Vereinbarkeit von Familie und Beruf befördert anstatt sie zu erschweren. Die Angebote reichen angefangen bei Unterstützung zu finanziellen Belangen und Familienleistungen, Hilfe in Krisensituationen bis hin zu Ferien-, Betreuungs- und Beschäftigungsangebote für Kinder. Angebote und Termine werden fortlaufend aktualisiert und sind auf der Webseite der Lokalen Bündnisse für Familie einzusehen. 

Was ist was? - Aufklärungsarbeit durch Gleichstellungsbeauftragten (31.05.2021)

Eine Kampagne der Stadt München widmet sich der Transparenz von Gleichstellungsaufgaben. Was möchten Gleichstellungsbeauftragte erreichen? Warum sind deren Anliegen wichtig? Was verbirgt sich eigentlich hinter dem Begriff Gender Mainstreaming? Um missverständliche Vorstellungen ab-zubauen, leisten Münchner Gleichstellungsbeauftragte Aufklärungsarbeit: In diesem Video wird die Notwendigkeit und Motivation von Gender Mainstreaming veranschaulicht. 

Geschlechterverhältnis in der Wissenschaft (31.05.2021)

In einer Co-Autorenschaft von Wissenschaftlerinnen, die sich der Geschlechterforschung widmen, entstand das Buch Kooperation und Konkurrenz im Wissenschaftsbetrieb: Perspektiven aus der Genderforschung und -politik. Die Autorinnen teilen darin Einblicke in die Netzwerk- und Gleichstellungsarbeit an Hochschulen und das Geschlechterverhältnis in der Wissenschaft. Von der Gesellschaft Erziehung und Wissenschaft (GEW) empfohlen.

Perspektiven für mehr Geschlechtergerechtigkeit (31.05.2021)

Die Soziologie-Professorin Jutta Allmendinger diskutierte vergangenen Jahres gemeinsam mit weiteren ExpertInnen bei Talkshow Moderatorin Anne Will über die sozialen Folgen der Coronapandemie. ,,Die Frauen werden eine entsetzliche Retraditionalisierung weiter erfahren. Ich glaube nicht, dass man das so einfach wieder aufholen kann, und dass wir drei Jahrzehnte verlieren werden‘‘ so Allmendinger über den sich anbahnenden Rollback im Verhältnis der Geschlechter. In ihrem Buch Es geht nur gemeinsam! Wie wir endlich Geschlechtergerechtigkeit erreichen untermauert Allmendinger ihre These mit soziologischen Daten. Das Redaktionsteam von Deutschlandfunk sieht die Potentiale des Buches darin, die gesellschaftliche Wirklichkeit abzubilden sowie Perspektiven aufzuzeigen, die dazu verhelfen sollen, die sozialen Verhältnisse gerechter zu gestalten.

Studieren mit Kind – Herausforderungen vereinbaren und bewältigen (17.05.2021)

Ein Studium zu organisieren und zugleich ein Kind großziehen stellt junge Eltern vor vielerlei Herausforderungen. Die andauernde Pandemiezeit konfrontiert junge Familien mit weiteren Hürden. Doch diese Hürden sind nicht unüberwindbar, im Gegenteil: es existieren vielzählige Unterstützungsangebote, die bei organisatorischen und finanziellen Schwierigkeiten Lösungen bereitstellen. Der Studienführer studienwahl.de macht auf eben jene Hilfsangebote aufmerksam und zeigt anhand von Best Practice Beispielen wie beide Verpflichtungen miteinander vereinbart werden können. Weitere Informations- und Beratungsangebote sind hier im Familienportal in der Rubrik ,,Beratung/Service‘‘ zu finden.

Die bukof formuliert 18 Positionen für eine geschlechtergerechte Hochschulpolitik (17.05.2021)

Die Bundeskonferenz der Frauen- und Gleichstellungsbeauftragten an Hochschulen (bukof) richtet sich mit einem Positionspapier für eine geschlechtergerechte Hochschulpolitik an Akteure der deutschen Hochschullandschaft. Sowohl für Studierende als auch für Mitarbeitende in der Lehre, Technik und Verwaltung stellen die Forderungen der bukof einen Orientierungsrahmen dar: Die bukof eröffnet Perspektiven und legt Veränderungsbedarfe offen, welche bspw. die Studienbedingungen oder Personalorganisation an Hochschulen betreffen. Die Standpunkte in vollem Umfang sind auf der Webseite der bukof nachzulesen.

Kinderbetreuung – Welche Regelungen gelten in welchem Bundesland? (11.05.2021)

Bildungspolitik ist Sache der Länder. Das hat sich auch zu Zeiten der Corona-Pandemie nicht geändert. Es ist nicht verwunderlich, dass Eltern in diesem Regelkomplex den Überblick verlieren und sich fragen, welche Regeln denn nun im eigenen Bundesland gelten. Das Deutsche Studentenwerk aktualisiert regelmäßig die bundeslandspezifisch geltenden Regelungen. Hier sind die aktuellen (Not-) Betreuungsmöglichkeiten der einzelnen Länder nachzulesen.

Onlineseminar: Traumziel ,,Frau Doktor'' oder: Wie starte ich eine Dissertation? (10.05.2021)

Die Landeskonferenz der Gleichstellungsbeauftragten an Hochschulen BaWü (Lakof) richtet sich mit einem zweiteiligen Onlineseminar an Absolventinnen, die nach ihrem Abschluss eine akademische Laufbahn anstreben möchten. Die Promotion stellt das Einlassticket zu einer Anstellung als wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin dar. Daher liegt der Fokus des Seminars auf der Themenfindung, Betreuung sowie Finanzierung einer Dissertation. Die Seminarteilnehmerinnen erwarten nicht nur weiterführende Tipps von erfahrenen Wissenschaftlerinnen, sondern haben außerdem Gelegenheit eigene Fragen an die Vortragenden zu richten. Die Seminarsitzungen finden statt am 1. Oktober 2021 und 17. Februar 2022 jeweils online von 10:00 bis 17:00 Uhr. Weitere Informationen sind auf der Webseite der Lakof zu finden.

Machtmissbrauch in der Wissenschaft – Die Perspektive von DoktorandInnen (10.05.2021)

Das N2 – Netzwerk von Promovierendennetzwerken führt regelmäßig Umfragen unter mehr als 16.000 Promovierenden in ganz Deutschland durch, um die Belange der Promovierenden gegenüber von Forschungsorganisationen und der Öffentlichkeit zu vertreten. Eine der jüngsten Umfragen befasst sich mit dem Phänomen des Machtmissbrauchs in der Wissenschaft. Die Umfrageergebnisse sprechen für dringenden Handlungsbedarf, denn es herrscht ein hoher Grad an Unzufriedenheit unter den DoktorandInnen. Die Befragten geben an, die starke Abhängigkeit zu einer ihnen hierarchisch übergeordneten Person als problematisch wahrzunehmen. Mobbing durch Betreuer und Vorgesetzte ist einer von vielen Gründen, weshalb Promovierende über einen Ausstieg aus der Wissenschaft nachdenken. Mehr Informationen zur Umfrage und den erzielten Ergebnissen sind hier nachzulesen.

Corona KiTa-Rat: Die Bedeutung von Kinderbetreuung in Zeiten der Pandemie (03.05.2021)

Die Corona-KiTa-Studie untersucht aus medizinischer und sozialwissenschaftlicher Sicht, was die Pandemie für Kitas, Kinder und Eltern bedeutet. In regelmäßigen Zeitabständen werden Ergebnisse veröffentlicht, z.B. zu durchgeführten Hygienemaßnahmen in Betreuungseinrichtungen, Impfprioritäten für pädagogisches Personal sowie zur Rolle von Kindern bei der Verbreitung des Virus. Die Studie dient der Orientierung von politischen Entscheidungsträgern sowie zur Legitimation der Beschlüsse der Familienpolitik. Öffnungsstrategien zu diskutieren und eben solche durchzuführen ist noch immer stark vom aktuellen Infektionsgeschehen abhängig. Der Arbeits- und Gesundheitsschutz des pädagogischen Personals hat dabei höchste Priorität. Die aktuellen Beschlüsse der Familienpolitik (Stand: 30.03.2021) hält Bundesfamilienministerin Franziska Giffey in einem Video-Statement fest.

Sozial- und familienpolitische Änderungen 2021 (08.04.2021)

Das Deutsche Studentenwerk stellt eine aktuelle Übersicht bereit, die alle sozial- und familienpolitischen Veränderungen 2021 festhält. Leistungsberechtite Familien finden hierin Antworten auf Fragen zur Erhöhung des Kindergeldes sowie des Kinderfreibetrags, über die Anpassung der Düsseldorfer Tabelle bis hin zu finanziellen Entlastungen für Alleinerziehende und der Erhöhung des Wohngeldes. Die Übersicht hält zudem weiterführende Informationen sowie Verweise auf offizielle Auskunftswebseiten des Bundesministeriums für Familie, Senioren, Frauen und Jugend bereit.

Sozialpädagogischer Blog rund um Corona (laufend aktuell)

Der Blog entstand aus einer Initiative des Vorstandes der Kommission Sozialpädagogik in der Deutschen Gesellschaft für Erziehungswissenschaft e.V.. Die Blogbeiträge thematisieren vielfältige soziale Fragen, die durch die Corona-Pandemie besonders im Hinblick auf Erziehung, Betreuung, Pflege usw. aufgetreten sind. 

Schulöffnungen – Kritik der GEW (16.02.2021)

Unter welchen Voraussetzungen sind flächendeckende Schulöffnungen wieder möglich? Ist es sinnvoll Öffnungsbeschlüsse an Inzidenzzahlen zu koppeln? Warum ist eine bundeseinheitliche Regelung für Schulen wichtig? Die GEW kritisiert die Vorhaben der Politik in puncto Schulöffnungen. Marlis Tepe, Vorsitzende der GEW, äußert, Entscheidungen würden zu überstürzt be-schlossen, die Umsetzung sei daher zum Scheitern verurteilt. Die Forderungen der GEW sind hier nachzulesen.

Studieren mit Kind - ein Erfahrungsbericht (16.02.2021)

Julia und Julius Rind, Studierende an der Universität Aachen und Eltern zweier Kinder, erzählen aus ihrem Alltag. Studium und Kindererziehung: Wie können junge, studierende Eltern beiden Teilen gerecht werden? Der Podcast ist hier abrufbar.

Kinder, Haushalt, Pflege - wer kümmert sich? (27.01.2021)

Das Bundesministerium für Familie, Senioren, Frauen und Jugend hat ein Dossier zum Thema "Kinder, Haushalt, Pflege - wer kümmert sich?" veröffentlicht. Frauen und Männer stehen gleichermaßen vor der Herausforderung, beruflichen Verpflichtungen und Sorgeaufgaben nachzukommen. Die Gleichstellungspolitik möchte Rahmenbedingungen schaffen, mit denen sich Frauen und Männer die Erwerbs- und Sorgearbeit partnerschaftlicher aufteilen können. Das Dossier betrachtet den Gender Care Gap, seine Ursachen und mögliche Lösungen. 

Achtung: freie Kita-Plätze (laufend aktuell)

Das Studierendenwerk Karlsruhe AöR hat aktuell freie Plätze in den Kitas. Die Aufnahme in die Kita kann direkt erfolgen. Hierzu melden Sie sich bitte über das Kita-Portal an und parallel bei der Kita-Leitung oder bei Frau Sylvia Schmidt per E-Mail. Studierende mit Kindern, die nicht in Karlsruhe wohnen, können auf Nachfrage ebenfalls die Kinderbetreuung in Anspruch nehmen. Weitere Informationen finden Sie auf der Beratungsseite des Studierendenwerks „Studieren mit Kind“.